Dakshina Kannada all set for polling tomorrow

Dakshina Kannada all set for polling tomorrow

A total of 2,699 ballot units, 2,262 control units and 2,608 VVPAT machines have been kept ready for polling, Deputy Commissioner Sasikanth Senthil said.

Informing the same to reporters here on Thursday, he said that the machines are 20% more than the reserve capacity for backup purposes in case of malfunctioning of machines. The second phase of randomisation of EVMs and VVPAT machines has been carried out in the presence of candidates, agents and election observers.

Of the 1,858 polling stations in the district, 517 polling booths have been recognised as critical. Webcasting will be done in 97 of these booths and micro observers will be deployed in 221 booths. Central paramilitary forces and videographers will be deployed in the rest of the booths. A total of 20 polling booths have been identified as pink booths (entirely monitored by women staff) and 5 booths are designed to be ethnic booths. Central paramilitary forces will be deployed in 400 critical booths, along with Rapid Action Force teams and KSRP platoons on the polling day.

Around 160 KSRTC buses are being used for the polling purpose. The buses on the day of polling will run two to three trips to the extended area near the polling booths to help voters to come for exercising their franchise. No fares will be collected by these buses. KSRTC has already identified 23 routes for such services in Sullia, Belthangady, Puttur and Bantwal areas.

The DC further said that postal ballots have been dispatched to 12,837 polling booth officials and 1,295 police officials and staff, vehicle drivers, cleaners deployed on election duty and service voters. A total of 5,900 postal votes have been cast so far.

Deputy Commissioner Sasikanth Senthil said that the undistributed photo voter slips along with an alphabetical voters’ list will be kept at a facilitation desk outside the polling station on the day of polling, so that it can be collected by voters. About 70% to 80% of the voters’ slips have been distributed in the district. Those who fail to get the slip, can get it from the BLO outside the booth on the day of polling. However, voter slip is not compulsory for voting. Voters can use election identity card and 11 other documents recognised by the Election Commission.

Polling agents appointed by political parties are required to be present at the polling booths by 5.45 am during mock polling. The reliever polling agent may arrive at the polling station only before 3 pm and not later. The agents may avail the details of polls cast on the day as per Form 17. Polling will be conducted between 7 am and 6 pm.

Publicity around 200 metre distance from the polling booth premises is prohibited on the day of polling. The banner used in the publicity booths should be 3 feet x 1.5 feet in size and can only contain the name of the candidate, name and symbol of the party. The publicity booth can have one table and two chairs. Permission should be availed for the same from the local authority such as GP, Municipal Council and so on.

Arguments or any kind of disturbance at the polling booth will be treated as an attempt to cause hindrance to the polling process and action will be initiated against the same. Speaking loudly at the entrance of the polling booth, use of sound system or posing hurdle to the functioning of the election officials attracts three months jail or fine under Section 131 in the Representation of the People Act. In case of any queries, the voters may contact the toll free number 18004252099 and the polling team will arrive at the spot within 30 minutes.

As per the direction of the Election Commission of India, the 19 records maintained during the election process will be scrutinised on May 13.

The counting of votes of all Assembly constituencies in the district will be done at Mahatma Gandhi Centenary Higher Primary School and Composite PU College in Bondel, Mangaluru, on May 15. Counting of postal ballots will be done from 8 am. The counting of votes cast through EVMs will be done later.

City Police Commissioner Vipul Kumar, Superintendent of Police R Ravikanthegowda and Additional Deputy Commissioner Vaishali were present.