District administration gears up for the poll day

District administration gears up for the poll day

Filing of nominations for the upcoming assembly elections will be held from April 17 to 24.

Addressing reporters, Deputy Commissioner M K Srirangaiah said that the nominations will be received between 11 am and 3 pm.

Candidates from Tarikere, Kadur, Chikkamagaluru and Mudigere constituencies should file nominations at the respective taluk offices, and the candidates from Sringeri should file nominations at Koppa Taluk office. The nominations cannot be filed on government holidays.

The scrutiny of nominations will be held on April 25 at 11 am. The last date for the withdrawal of nominations is April 27. The final list of the candidates in fray will be announced later.

Voting will be held on May 12, from 7 am to 5 pm. The counting of votes will be held at STJ College on April 15.

The DC further said that a total of 29,606 applications were received towards addition, deletion and corrections, as on April 14.

Rs 22.21 lakh has been seized for violating the model code of conduct in all five constituencies.

Rs 1.30 lakh has been seized at K B Hal checkpost, Rs 3.80 lakh in Chikkamagaluru city, Rs 5.87 lakh at Maravanji, 3.77 lakh at Chowlahiriyuru, Rs 5.5 lakh at Kiragunda, Rs 1.96 lakh at Bhaktanakatte checkposts.

Excise and Police Departments and the special forces have seized 835 liquor worth Rs 4.46 lakh, registering 119 cases. The license of a bar and restaurant in Kadur has been scrapped.

Out of 9,121 gun license holders, 8,651 people have submitted their guns to police custody. 165 people have been exempted from surrendering the licenses, as they are residing in forest area and naxal-infested area. Those who own more than one gun, can keep only one gun with them.

Bonds have been received from 300 persons having criminal backgrounds. Cases have been registered against 935 people under IPC 107 and 109.

36 applications have been received under ‘Suvidha’ app and 34 of them have been disposed-off. All the four grievances filed through ‘Samadhan’ app have been cleared.11 out of 14 complaints filed through complaint monitoring have been disposed-off.

Five election observers, three expenditure observers and a police observer has been nominated to five constituencies by the election commission.

Model polling booths will be established for every one of the five polling booths in every assembly constituency, along with pink polling booths, meant for the places where women voters outnumber the men. Women staff and women officers operate such booths. 10 pink booths will be set up in Chikkamagaluru CMC limit and two each in rural assembly limits.

“Webcasting will be done in 25 booths in Chikkamagaluru, 25 in Sringeri, 23 in Mudigere, 23 in Tarikere and 24 in Kadur,” the DC added.

Additional DC Kumar was present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily