Parties shortlist names for June 11 MLC polls

Parties shortlist names for June 11 MLC polls

PTI file photo for representation.

The state unit of the BJP on Monday is understood to have shortlisted names of probable candidates for the upcoming elections to 11 seats of the Karnataka Legislative Council scheduled to be held on June 11.

Party state president B S Yeddyurappa headed the BJP core committee meeting at the party office and prepared the list of probable candidates. The final list is expected to be announced after obtaining the approval of the party central leadership. May 31 is the last date for filing the nomination papers by the candidates.

Of the total 11 seats, the BJP can elect five, the Congress four and the JD(S) two on the basis of their strength in the Legislative Assembly. The MLAs are voters in the election. The BJP currently has 104 MLAs, the Congress 78 and the JD(S) 37. Besides, there are three more MLAs – one from BSP, one from KPJP and an Independent. While the Independent and the KPJP MLA are supporting the Congress, the JD(S) has the backing of the BSP legislator.

S Rudre Gowda, Ashwathnarayana, Tejaswini Ramesh, Raghunath Rao Malkapure, Banu Prakash, Vamanacharya, A Narayanaswamy and C N Ramu are among the candidates shortlisted by the BJP core committee, sources in the party said.

The Congress too is said to have prepared the list of probable candidates. K Govindaraj, C M Ibrahim, Nazeer Ahmed, Ramachandrappa, V R Sudharshan, Motamma and Rani Satish have been shortlisted by the party leaders. The party high command is yet to approve the list.

B M Farooq and Y S V Datta are among those in the race from the JD(S).