Rebellion in BJP in 3 seats in Dharwad dist

After pacifying former MLA Seema Masuthi in Dharwad constituency, BJP is now facing rebellion in Hubballi-Dharwad East and Kundgol constituencies, in addition to Kalghatagi.

As the BJP ticket from Hubballi-Dharwad East constituency is announced for Chandrashekhar Gokak, former MLA Veerabhadrappa Halaharavi, who was an aspirant, has decided to contest in the elections as an independent candidate. Another aspirant Shankarappa Bijwad is expected to announce his decision on Monday.

With BJP fielding former MLA S I Chikkanagoudar in Kundgol constituency, M R Patil, who tried to get BJP ticket, has announced that he would be in the poll fray as a rebel candidate.

Meanwhile, C M Nimbannavar, who could not get BJP ticket from Kalghatagi constituency, has decided to face the polls as an independent candidate, though the JD(S) had offered him the party ticket.

All three candidates held meetings with their supporters on Saturday to take a decision.

In Navalgund, Shivanand Karigar, who tried to get Congress ticket but in vain, filed nomination papers as an independent candidate on Saturday.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0