Elakkiya Dasan emerges fastest man

Elakkiya Dasan emerges fastest man

Ajay Kumar Bind of Mangalore University in action during 5000-meter race walk, at the All India Inter-university Athletic meet-2018, in Moodbidri on Sunday.

Elakkiya Dasan of Mangalore University emerged the fastest male athlete of the 79th All-India Inter-University Athletics meet at Swaraj Maidan at Moodbidri, clinching a gold medal in 100 metres with a new meet record of 10.41 seconds.

On the second day of the meet, Dasan eclipsed the previous best of 10.49 sec set by himself at Guntur early this year.

Prajwal Mandanna of Alva’s college secured silver with 10.58 seconds while Mohammad Azam of Mahatma Gandhi University bagged a bronze with 10.64 seconds.

Elated Dasan who was mighty pleased with the race, shared his joy with DH, “I was suffering from leg pain for the last one week. I prayed to God before the race, to bless me. I broke my own record I had created at Guntur.” 

In the women’s 100 metres race, N S Sami of MG University Kottayam won gold with a record timing of 11.56 sec. Dhanalakshmi of Bharathiar University and Revathi of Madurai Kamaraj University finished the race second and third respectively.

Simi said “My dream has been realised at Moodbidri. I have been striving for this gold medal for the last seven months.” Ajay Kumar of Mangalore University clocked a creditable 14:47.15 sec to win men’s 5000 metres event.


Women: 400m hurdles: 1) R Vithya (Bharathiar), 2) Shalini (MG University) and 3) Nancy (Maharshi Dayananda University); 5000m: 1) Arthi Patil (Savitri Bai Phule), 2) K M Amrutha (MG University), 3) G Prajakta (Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University).

Men: 20km walk: 1) Akashdeep Singh (Punjab University), 2) Neeraj Chourasia (DDU Gorakhpur University), 3) Hardeep (Maharshi Dayananda University); 400m hurdles: 1) Manjeet (Guru Jambeshwar Haryana University), 2) Surendar (Singhania University) and 3) Gautam Gupta (MG University).