BJP show in elections impressive: BSY

Last Updated 26 October 2018, 09:50 IST

Like the Congress, the BJP also has claimed that it has done well in the ULB elections. Of the total 2,662 seats (covering 105 ULBs), the BJP has won 929.

In the previous ULB elections in 2013, the BJP had bagged 905 seats - the same as JD(S). The Congress had emerged victorious by winning 1,960 seats. At that time, the total number of seats were 4,976, covering all 208 ULBs.

While the party has achieved a “decisive” victory in the Shivamogga City Corporation, it has emerged as the single largest party in Mysuru and Tumakuru city corporations. The BJP has also done well in Udupi and Bagalkot city municipal councils.

The saffron party has not only performed well in coastal and northern Karnataka, it has also made inroads into the JD(S) and Congress strongholds such as Hassan and Mandya.

“This proves my statement that the BJP’s performance is impressive,” said BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa, soon after the results were announced.

He said that the BJP had substantially increased its tally in many ULBs across the state. “This is proof of the BJP continuing to enjoy the support and confidence of the people,” he said.

The BJP leader also charged that there had been blatant misuse of official machinery and rampant use of money power by the ruling combine – JD(S) and the Congress. “That we have successfully fought against this joint onslaught of the two unprincipled parties and achieved a fantastic victory is by itself a commendable performance,” he added.

Yeddyurappa said that the ULB results were, however, not an indicator or a trend-setter for the Lok Sabha elections.

“Parliamentary elections are fought on a different turf - the issues will be totally different from the Assembly and ULB elections. As far as the Lok Sabha elections are concerned, the BJP is on a very strong footing in all aspects. I am confident that the BJP will win 22 to 25 seats out of the total 28 seats in Karnataka. People are already set to vote for BJP in the parliamentary elections,” he added.

(Published 03 September 2018, 17:31 IST)

Follow us on