Mamnoon Hussain takes oath as Pakistan's president

Mamnoon Hussain takes oath as Pakistan's president

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Mamnoon Hussain took oath as Pakistan's 12th president here Monday, the Associated Press of Pakistan reported.

Pakistan Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry administered the oath of office to the new president at a ceremony at Aiwan-e-Sadr or presidency.

Among those present at the event were Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, members of the federal cabinet, chief ministers, former presidents and prime ministers, judges, diplomats and senior officials.

Hussain won the presidential polls held July 30 by an electoral college comprising members of parliament, the senate and the four provincial assemblies.

He defeated Justice (Retd) Wajiuddin Ahmed of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). The Pakistan People's Party (PPP) boycotted the presidential election. Hussain bagged 432 votes against Ahmed's 77 votes. 

A graduate of the Institute of Business Administration, Karachi, Hussain was born in 1940 in Agra, India, and his family migrated to Pakistan in 1947 at the time of partition.

He also served as the governor of Sindh from June-October 1999, till he was ousted along with the PML-N government by the then army chief General Pervez Musharraf.
Former president Asif Ali Zardari completed his five-year term in office Sunday.