BJP sweeps all five seats in Hyd-K’taka

BJP sweeps all five seats in Hyd-K’taka

Supporters and party workers of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) dance and hold flags as they celebrate on the vote results day for general election in Bangalore. AFP photo

The BJP’s lotus has blossomed in all five Lok Sabha constituencies of Hyderabad-Karnataka region this time. For the first time, Congress has lost all the Lok Sabha segments here. 

After the 1998 Lok Sabha election, two or three Congress MPs were getting elected from this region.

Don't Miss | Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates

In the previous election, three Congress MPs made it to the parliament. But this time, the Congress MPs Mallikarjun Kharge (Gulbarga), B V Naik (Raichur) and V S Ugrappa(Bellary) tasted defeat.

BJP MPs Bhagwant Khuba from Bidar and Sanganna Karadi from Koppal were re-elected.

ALSO READ | Karnataka Lok Sabha Election Results LIVE

Voters of this region were electing two-three candidates of a single party so far. It was almost evident from the six Lok Sabha polls held from 1996 to 2014.

The Hyderabad-Karnataka region was earlier a Congress bastion. For the first time, Janata Dal won the three seats in 1996. The Congress won three seats in 1998 and 2004.  The grand-old party won four seats in 1999. But in 2009, Congress candidates N Dharam Singh from Bidar and Mallikarjun Kharge from Gulbarga made to the Parliament.

MUST READ | Assembly Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates

The Congress bagged Gulbarga along with Raichur segment in 2014 while the BJP won the remaining three segments. However, V S Ugrappa of Congress won in the byelection held to Bellary Lok Sabha seat a few months ago.

This time, BJP candidates  Dr Umesh Jadhav from Gulbarga, Bhagawanth Khuba from Bidar, Sanganna Karadi from Koppal, Y Devendrappa from Bellari, Raja Amaresh Naik from Raichur have won the polls.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox