PM launches visually impaired-friendly Rs 20 coins

PM launches visually impaired-friendly Rs 20 coins

The Government will come out with the first ever Rs 20 coin which will be shaped like a 12-edged polygon with a design of grains to denote farm dominance in the country. Besides, new series of one, two, five and ten rupees coins too would be minted, which will be circular in design and have denominations written in Hindi script. (Image: PIB/Twitter)

India's agricultural dominance will be displayed on the new Rs 20 coins that will soon be issued by the Reserve Bank of India for circulation. The 12-edged polygon shaped coins will be visually impaired friendly with the design of grains on them.

Besides, one, two, five and ten rupee coins will also be minted afresh keeping in mind the visually impaired, a government notification said on Thursday.

The coins were released by Prime Minister Narendra Modi at a function at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg, his official residence, where visually impaired children were specially invited.

The Rs 20 coins will resemble the current Rs 10 coins in colour and will be made of nickel silver and brass.

The coins are characterised by the increasing size and weight from lower to higher denominations. The new Rs 20 coin will have no serrations.

The rest of the denominations will be round-shaped.

The face of the Rs 20 coin shall bear the 'Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar' with 'Satyameva Jayate' inscribed below. The left periphery will have the word 'Bharat' in Hindi and the right periphery will have the word 'India' in English, the notification said.

The coin, weighing 8.54 gm, will have on its left periphery the design of grains and the reverse side will have the denominational value '20' in the international numerals along with the rupee symbol. The year of minting will be shown on the centre-left.

The new series one rupee and two rupee coins will weigh 3.09 gm and 4.07 gm, it said.

Coins are minted at four government mints at Mumbai, Alipore (Kolkata), Saifabad (Hyderabad), Cherlapally (Hyderabad) and Noida (UP).