Predict LS election results; win Rs 10 lakh prize

Predict LS election results; win Rs 10 lakh prize

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi. PTI file photo

Federation of Indian Rationalist Associations (FIRA) has floated the challenge again, urging astrologers to predict the exact seats some parties could win and votes polled by several key contestants.

The challenge to exactly predict election results is a brainchild of Narendra Nayak, president of Federation of Indian Rationalist Associations. “I will be very happy if an astrologer predicts and wins the prize,” he quipped, adding that no one has succeeded in doing so in the past 35 years.

“I don’t remember the exact number of elections for which the challenge was thrown in the open,” adding that prize will be only for those who predict the results according to the conditions specified by him.

Which party will come to power with a simple majority and the number of seats that the party would win - with a five percent error margin, is the first question.

The second question is the exact number of seats 10 political parties, including BJP, Congress, Trinamool Congress, SP, BSP, JD(U), BJD, CPI(M), DMK and TRS may win.

The third question, which allows a five percent error margin, challenges astrologers or the like to answer the votes polled for the following candidates: Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi (at Wayanad), Deve Gowda, Mithun Rai (Mangalore Congress candidate), Smriti Irani, Kanhaiya Kumar, Karti Chidamabaram and Pragya Singh Thakur.

Nayak, who has posted the challenge on his Facebook page, said that the last date for submitting applications was May 22 - a day before counting.

Nayak added that apart from Federation of Indian Rationalist Associations , Maharastra Andhshraddha Nirmulan Samithi has also floated a similar challenge.

“I received 450 entries for the challenge in 2009, which reduced to around 250 in 2014. This year, I have received a response even before I posted the challenge. However, the response is incomplete and is not eligible for the prize,” he added.