Rs 25,000 for AIADMK Lok Sabha poll application

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam. PTI file photo

AIADMK leaders and cadres who wish to contest the Lok Sabha polls due in May can buy application forms by paying Rs 25,000 and express their interest from February 4 to February 10, the party announced on Wednesday.

The ruling party said it will receive applications from February 4 to February 10 from prospective candidates who wish to contest the general elections. “Those interested can pay Rs 25,000 towards application, fill them and submit at the headquarters by February 10,” a press release signed by Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and his deputy O Panneerselvam said.

AIADMK and DMK charge anywhere between Rs 10,000 to Rs 25,000 from cadre and leaders who wish to contest elections. When M Karunanidhi and J Jayalalithaa were alive, it was a regular practice for several leaders to buy application expressing their interest that their leaders contest from their seat.

The money collected by selling application forms – which usually run into several crores -- go to the party fund.

Though the AIADMK is yet to finalise its alliance and seat-sharing arrangement, the party has invited applications for all 40 seats, including the lone seat in Puducherry.

The BJP has informally launched talks for an alliance with AIADMK, which seems reluctant at this point partly because of opposition from senior leaders, district functionaries and cadre, and is expected to touch base with other parties like the PMK and DMDK – which were part of the BJP’s rainbow alliance in 2014. Though the BJP brought all smaller parties under its coalition in 2014, it could win only two seats – BJP in Kanyakumari and PMK in Dharmapuri.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)