AAP again seeks Jatiley's ouster over DDCA

AAP again seeks Jatiley's ouster over DDCA

Delhi's ruling AAP on Sunday again demanded the sacking of Finance Minister Arun Jaitley from the government after accusing him of corruption in the city's cricket board.

Immediately after BJP MP Kirti Azad detailed what he said were details of financial wrongdoing in the DDCA, the AAP asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi to dismiss Jaitley.

Jaitley had headed the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) for years. He has denied the accusations against him, and called Kirti Azad "a Trojan Horse".

"Jaitley is the Suresh Kalmadi of BJP," Aam Aadmi Party leader Ashutosh told the media, referring to the former Congress MP who was linked to the alleged corruption in the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

"He (Jaitley) should be immediately sacked," Ashutosh added.

Another AAP leader, Kumar Vishwas, wanted to know if Modi would continue to retain Jaitley in his cabinet even after knowing the details of the alleged corruption charges against him.

Vishwas said Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was the first person in the government "who tried to expose the corruption in DDCA".

This was the only reason the CBI raided Kejriwal's office on December 15 in the name of targeting his principal secretary Rajendra Kumar, he added.

The CBI wanted to look into the file which contained the report of a three-member committee which - on Kejriwal's orders - probed the financial irregularities in the working of DDCA.

The Central Bureau of Investigation has denied searching Kejriwal's office.

"Kirti Azad has made it clear that Jaitley is the head of the (DDCA) scam. He should be removed," said Sanjay Singh, another AAP leader.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)