AFSPA to continue in three districts of Arunachal

The Centre has extended the "disturbed area" tag under AFSPA for three districts of Arunachal Pradesh for six more months while withdrawing it partly from the state's three other districts bordering Assam.

The notification issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs on Monday said that the decision was taken after considering the present law and order situation in the six districts of the state.

The three districts of Arunachal Pradesh, which will continue to be designated as disturbed areas under AFSPA are Tirap, Changlang and Longding.

According to the notification, the AFSPA will also continue in four police station areas— Namsai and Mahadevpur in Namsai district, Roing in Lower Dibang Valley district and Sunpura police station in Lohit district.

The notification said the Union Home Ministry took the decision exercising its powers conferred under section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0



AFSPA to continue in three districts of Arunachal


Write the first review for this !