After Parliament Washout, BJP plans nationwide protest

After Parliament Washout, BJP plans nationwide protest

After Parliament Washout, BJP plans nationwide protest
Union ministers and NDA parliamentarians will hold protests across the country against the Congress and the Left for disrupting the monsoon session of Parliament. They will specially target 53 Lok Sabha seats won by the Congress and the Left.

Earlier, Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the NDA leaders and recalled about the Emergency imposed to concentrate power with one family which was that of former prime minister Indira Gandhi. Junior Parliamentary Affairs Minister Rajiv Pratap Rudy quoted Modi as telling NDA MPs that "the way the Congress behaved during the Emergency, it had behaved during the Parliament session by creating obstructions".

The NDA parties have decided to publicise the “anti-growth” and “pro-family” politics of the Congress during the campaign. The BJP said that “the Congress and the Left were  responsible for the complete washout of the monsoon session. 

“The Congress has exhibited that it continues to be enslaved to a family. It is willing to compromise national interest and policy merely because the family is unable to digest its electoral defeat in 2014. There is popular disapproval of its policies of disruption without a cause,” Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said announcing about the new campaign against the leading opposition party.

Protests in each constituency would be under the leadership of a Union minister, who would be assisted by four MPs to make it meaningful, Jaitley said. Jaitly described the Congress disruption in Parliament as “protest without a cause”. The finance minister again targetted Rahul Gandhi personally by saying that “when seniority is thrust on you, a certain level of maturity is required. But, the more he grows the more he immatures”.

The NDA Parliamentary Party also passed a resolution against what it said the “deliberate and forcible” disruption of the monsoon session by the Congress. The resolution called upon the people to see through “patently undemocratic” behaviour of the Congress.

Later, NDA MPs led by senior ministers and BJP leaders including L K Advani, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj and Venkaiah Naidu marched near Parliament in protest against the Congress preventing passage of important pro-growth and development bills including the GST.