AINRC-AIADMK secures 17 of 26 seats in Puducherry

AINRC-AIADMK secures 17 of 26 seats in Puducherry

In a debacle, reflecting the trend in neighbouring Tamil Nadu where DMK and its ally Congress suffered a humiliating defeat at the hands of AIADMK, the ruling combine in the Union Territory managed to win only nine seats.

Former Chief Minister N Rangasamy is set to form the next government as his All-India NR Congress made a striking electoral debut winning 14 seats while AIADMK won three and was ahead in two other segments.

With trends from only one seat awaited and a pro-AINRC independent leading in another segment, the AINRC-AIADMK combine was expected to take its tally to 20.

Rangasamy, who broke away from Congress to float his own outfit on poll eve, won both seats he contested.

Congress won seven of the 17 seats it contested and DMK two of the ten.
Rangasamy, who was replaced as Chief Minister by the party high command two years ago after a revolt by partymen including his cabinet colleagues, emerged victorious in Indira Nagar and Kadigamam constituencies.

Chief Minister V Vaithilingam, who succeeded Rangasamy, won from Kamaraj Nagar.