BJP forging ahead in Jharkhand, set to form next Govt

BJP forging ahead in Jharkhand, set to form next Govt

BJP looks set to form the next government in Jharkhand where it was ahead in 36 seats, while the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha was leading in 22 seats as counting of seats for the assembly polls progressed.

BJP's alliance partner Ajsu is leading in 3.
JVM(P) of former Chief Minister Babulal Marandi was in the third place leading in eight seats, followed by RJD of Lalu Prasad in 5 and Congress 4.

Congress is in alliance with RJD and JD(U), which has no showing as yet.
While BJP National Vice-president Raghubar Das is forging ahead is Jamshedpur East seat, its heavyweight in the state and former Chief Minister Arjun Munda is trailing in Kharswan seat.

Chief Minister Hemant Soren is leading in Barhait by over 7000 votes but is trailing in Dumka, where he is a sitting MLA, behind BJP candidate by over 9000 votes.

Among those trailing were fomer chief minister Madhu Koda, who has been charge sheeted by CBI is coal block allocation scam.

Marandi, who is the first Chief Minister of the tribal state, is trailing behind in Giridih and Dhanwar.

The indication from trends is that this election could give the state its first government with a single party majority since its inception in 2000.

The state has been dogged by political uncertainty since its birth 14 years ago.
BJP, which contested 72 seats, has a pre-poll alliance with the AJSU party which contested eight seats and Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party, in one seat.

Opposition parties put up a divided fight with the alliance among JMM-Congress breaking before the polls and they decided to contest separately.
JMM contested 79 seats, Congress contested 62 seats, RJD in 22 and JDU in 11. JVM (P) contested alone.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0