C'garh polls: Cong releases list for second phase

C'garh polls: Cong releases list for second phase

Chhattisgarh Assembly polls

Indian National Congress released the list of 37 candidates for the second phase of Assembly polls in Chhattisgarh late on Friday night.

The list includes prominent names like Charandas Mahant, Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee election committee chairman. The party has also relied on its former ministers and MLAs mainly Rabindra Choubey, Mohammed Akbar, Amitesh Shukla (son of former Chief Minister late Shyamacharan Shukla) and former minister from Pratappur (ST) Prem Sai Tekaam.

Vikas Upadhaya has been once again pitched against BJP candidate and PWD minister Rajesh Munat in Raipur city west. 

Bhilai Municipal Corporation Mayor and young face of Congress, Devendra Yadav has been given Congress ticket from Bhilai Nagar. Devendra had beaten BJP in the civic body election but recently his popularity got some dent after dengue deaths in city.

A total of 18 assembly seats in the Maoist-hit areas will go to polls in the first phase of polling on November 12. The second phase of polling for the remaining seats will be held on November 20 and results will be out on December 11.

The retained sitting 15 MLAs in list are CPCC president Bhupesh Baghel, Ambiakpur T S Singh Deo, Sitapur (ST) Amarjeet Bhagat, Raipur Rural Satyanarayan Sharma, Abhanpur Dhanendra Sahu, Ramanujganj (ST) Birhaspati Singh, Korba Jaisingh Agrawal, Durg City Arun Vora, Kharsia Umesh Patel, Akaltara Chunni Lal Sahu, Premnagar Khelsai Singh, Bhatgaon Paras Nath Rajwade, Dharamjaigarh (ST) Laaljit Singh Rathia, Rampur (ST) Shyamlal Kanwar and Masturi (SC) Dilip Lahariya.

The other candidates are Manendragarh Dr Vinay Jaiswal, Jashpur (ST) Vinay Kumar Bhagat, Kunkuri (ST) Uttam Dan Minj, Pathalgaon (ST) Rampukar Singh, Sarangarh (SC) Smt Uttari Jangde, Marwahi (ST) Gulaab Singh Raj, Lormi Shatrughan Lal Chandrakar, Mungeli (SC) Rakesh Patre, Kasdol Ms Shakuntala Sahu, Bhatapara Sunil Maheshwari, Bindranawagarh (ST) Sanjay Netam and Durg-Rural Ms Pratima Chandrakar.

Janta Congress

Janata Congress Chhattisgarh had announced the name of two more candidates for Kawardha and Nagari Sihawa Assembly constituencies taking the number of seats to 53 out of total 55 as per the alliance. The candidates are Shantanu Som from Sihawa Nagari and Agamdas Anand from Kawardha.


Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox