Counting begins in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam

Counting begins in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam

In all, 14,500 personnel will be involved in the counting process at 87 counting centres in 294 West Bengal Assembly constituencies.

According to the latest EC instruction, counting for each constituency should be done in a single hall with the EC-deputed observer, returning officer and representatives of the candidates present so that there is absolute transparency.

The EC has, however, exempted 18 assembly constituencies where two halls have been allotted since a single hall could not be found.

None except the observer and the retiring officer will be allowed to enter the counting halls with a mobile phone.There will be a three-tier security at counting centres with one to be manned by central forces.About 75 companies of central forces have been deployed at the centres.

Tamil Nadu

Counting of votes polled in the April 13 elections for the 234-member Tamil Nadu assembly began Friday morning in 91 centres.Around 78 percent of the 47 million voters exercised their franchise to decide the fate of 2,748 contestants.The two major fronts are led by the ruling DMK and the opposition AIADMK.


Counting of votes begam in Kerala and according top early reports UDF is leading in Vadakara seat.


Counting of votes polled in elections to the Assam Assembly began this morning at 48 centres across the state.

The counting process began at 8 AM at all the 126 constituencies. State's additional chief electoral officer M Sahu said around 8000 personnel are involved in the counting. "The final results are expected to be declared by 6 pm," he said.


Counting of votes polled in the April 13 elections for the 30-member Puducherry assembly began at 8 a.m. at three centres Friday.

Postal ballots were taken up first. It will be followed by counting of votes logged in the electronic voting machines.

Around 85 percent of the 810,214 electorate voted to elect 30 legislators from 187 candidates in the fray.

The fight is between forces allied with Congress Chief Minister V. Vaithilingam and former Congress chief minister N. Rangasamy, now heading the All India NR Congress (AINRC).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)