CPI to fight 60 seats, declares 39 names

CPI to fight 60 seats, declares 39 names

 The Communist Party of India (CPI) said on Sunday that it will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls from 60 seats in 24 states.

The party which announced the list of 39 names hoped that a non-Congress non-BJP formation would come to power at the Centre. Senior leader Gurudas Dasgupta would not contest as he had announced earlier. Among the candidates that the party announced is Probodh Panda, a seating MP, from Midnapore in West Bengal. The other two names announced from West Bengal are former MLA Santosh Rana from Ghatal and Nurul Huda from Bashirhat. Another prominent name in the list is Atul Kumar Anjaan who would contest from Ghosi in UP.

The CPI National Council has decided to continue efforts to have poll adjustment with secular democratic parties.

Apart from West Bengal and UP, the other states from which the party would field candidates are Assam, Manipur, Haryana, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Uttrakhand, MP, Bihar, Goa, Lakshdweep and Delhi.

The party has identified constituencies in Kerala, Punjab and Odisha but candidates would be named later. Candidates and constituencies in Tamil Nadu will also be decided later. Party General Secretary S Sudhakar Reddy said, “After milking the pliable UPA 2 government to the maximum, the corporate capital and international finance capital is bidding for a more subservient regime.”

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)