EC transfers Kolkata Police Commissioner

Anuj Sharma

Days ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, the Election Commission( EC) has asked the State Government to transfer Kolkata Police Commissioner Anuj Sharma late on Friday.

EC has also transferred three other officers of State Police.

"I am directed to state that the Commission has taken a review of poll preparedness of the state of West Bengal. The Commission has decided to make following transfer/ posting with immediate effect in respect of West Bengal, " stated the EC's letter to the Chief Secretary of West Bengal.

Sharma has been replaced with Dr Rajesh Kumar currently ADG of Pollution Control Board.

"The decision of the Commission must be implemented with immediate effect and a compliance report in respect of joining of other officers be sent within 24 hours. The present incumbent officers being shifted not to be involved by the State Government in any election-related duties, " stated the EC'S letter.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 3

  • 1

  • 1

  • 0

  • 1



EC transfers Kolkata Police Commissioner


Write the first review for this !