JMM appeals other parties to support Soren during trust vote

JMM appeals other parties to support Soren during trust vote

JMM appeals other parties to support Soren during trust vote

"In the interest of the state, to prevent imposition of President's Rule or mid-term polls, we appeal to all political parties and their MLAs to listen to their inner voice and conscience during the floor test," HRD minister Hemlal Murmu and senior JMM leader Champai Soren told reporters here.

In the 82-member Assembly, JMM needs 42 votes in its favour. Soren on Sunday chaired a meeting in which Deputy Chief Minister Sudesh Mahto, his party MLAs and two independent MLAs were present.

Murmu denied to comment when asked whether the appeal was being made as talks with BJP or Congress had failed and the magic figure was eluding Soren.

"We have arithmetic clear on our side based upon our discussions with others," he claimed.

According to JMM legislator Champai Soren, five of All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) and two independent MLAs -- Chamra Linda and Bidesh Singh, besides 18 of JMM have been attending a series of meetings of the party since yesterday.

The Congress (14 MLAs) and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha- Prajatantric (11 MLAs) have already made their position clear saying any effort for a formation of government in Jharkhand would be made only after the trust vote, which was necessitated following withdrawal of support by the 18-member BJP, on May 24.

JD-U, which has two MLAs, had also withdrawn support along with BJP.

The strength of the other parties in the House is : RJD-5, CPI-ML(L)-1, Marxist Coordination Committee-1, Jharkhand Party-1, Jharkhand Janadhikar Manch-1, Independents- 2, besides a nominated MLA.

The lone CPI-ML-liberation MLA Vinod Kumar Singh has already announced his decision to vote against Soren.

The 82-member House includes Speaker C P Singh and a nominated MLA from the Anglo-Indian community, Joseph P Gaulstun.

The speaker's vote will be necessary only if there is a tie. The nominated member of the House, who does not have voting right in cut motions, can vote during the floor test.