Munda wins Jharkhand by-poll, to stay as chief minister

He won by over 17,000 votes, defeating his nearest rival Krishna Gagarai of the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P).  "This is a victory of the people of the state. People of Kharsawa have voted for development," Munda said after winning.

He needed to win the election to become a member of the assembly within six months of becoming chief minister - a constitutional necessity. He was sworn in as chief minister in September.

Counting began at 8 a.m. Till the third round, Munda was trailing behind Gagarai by 860 votes, but he edged past in the subsequent rounds. Munda secured 61,701 votes while rival Gagarai got 44,335 votes. Munda had won from Kharsawa in 1995 on a Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) ticket. He joined the BJP just before the 2000 assembly elections. He again won the seat in 2000 and 2005 on a BJP ticket.

In 2009, BJP's Mangal Singh Soy had won the seat. He resigned last year to facilitate Munda's election to the assembly.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)