Cyclone Fani: EC lifts poll code in 11 Odisha districts

Cyclone Fani: EC lifts poll code in 11 Odisha districts

Indian voters arrive to cast their vote at a polling station during the fourth phase of general elections in Kendrapada district of Odisha state on April 29, 2019. - Voting began for the fourth phase of India's general parliamentary elections as Indians exercise their franchise in the country's marathon election which started on April 11 and runs through to May 19 with the results to be declared on May 23. (Photo by ASIT KUMAR / AFP)

The Election Commission of India has lifted the Model Code of Conduct in 11 districts of Odisha so that the state administration can battle the severe cyclone Fani that is expected to make landfall south of Puri on May 3.

The model code of conduct will be lifted in Puri, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Bhadrak, Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Gajapati, Ganjam, Khordha, Cuttack and Jajpur districts. The objective is to facilitate speedy rescue, relief and restoration work in the wake of the cyclonic storm.

According to the India Meteorological Department, the extremely severe cyclonic storm Fani is likely to cross the Odisha coast between Gopalpur and Chandbali to the south of Puri on May 3 afternoon with the maximum wind speed of  175-185 km per hour, gusting to 205 kmph.

Impacts of the cyclonic storm along with heavy rainfall are likely to be experienced in northern Andhra Pradesh and southern West Bengal too.

In 2008, another April cyclone Nargis devastated Myanmar and left a trail of destructions in its wake.

EC notification on MCC by Anonymous KLAPW20R on Scribd