Final Tally Telangana: TRS wins 88 seats

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Party workers celebrate their party's victory in the states Assembly elections, at Telangana Bhavan in Hyderabad, Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (PTI Photo)

With the people of Telangana giving a decisive verdict, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has won 88 seats (Magic figure was 60) in the 119 seat state assembly gaining 25 seats when compared to the 2014 elections.

The Congress which has formed an alliance with TDP, TJS and CPI won 21 seats losing 15 seats to TRS. The BJP has won only one out of the five seats it contested and the MIM seven out of the eight seats it contested. Two independents also won the elections.
The TRS victory was made possible with TRS  staring campaigning immediately after KCR declared 105 candidates for the 119-member assembly within hours after recommending dissolution of the house. In 2014 elections TRS has the strength of 63 MLAs in the assembly and 11 of the 17 Lok Sabha seats. The number of MLAs rose after TRS roped in 20 MLAs from rival camp almost emptying TDP.

Undivided district wise, the TRS has won nine out of twelve seats leaving only one seat for Congress. In Mahbubnagar considered as a stronghold for Congress, the TRS won 13 out of 14 seats, Congress won only one. Medak, a stronghold of KCR, the TRS won nine out of ten seats. Congress registered a victory in one seat (Sangareddy).
In the north Telangana district of Adilabad TRS won 9 out of ten leaving one for Congress in Asifabad. In Nizamabad, TRS won eight out of nine and Congress won one seat. In Warangal considered as the epicentre of Telangana agitation, TRS won 10 in twelve seats and Congress won two.
In Karimnagar, TRS won 11 out of 13 seats. Congress won only one seat (Manthani) and an Independent also won one seat in Ramagundam. Khammam district which used to be a communist stronghold TRS won only 1 seat, out of 10 seats. The Prajakutami won 8 seats and one independent won the Wyra seat.
In Hyderabad, MIM won 7 seats, TRS 7 and BJP won only one. In the neighbouring Ranga Reddy district, TRS won 11 out of 14 seats whereas the Cong won only 3.


Comments (+)