Opinion polls declare AAP winner in Delhi elections

Opinion polls declare AAP winner in Delhi elections 2020

Chief Minister of Delhi Arvind Kejriwal (C) waves to his supporters during a road show for the upcoming Delhi Legislative Assembly election, in New Delhi on January 28, 2020. (AFP Photo)

Three opinion poll have given the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP another term in power in the Delhi Assembly polls while predicting that BJP's 22-year-old wait may extend for another five years for a shot in the capital's government.

The ABP-CVoter poll, released on Wednesday, claimed AAP could win 42 to 56 of the 70 seats in the capital while BJP may win 10 to 24 seats in the February 8 polls. The campaigning for the high-octance Delhi polls is ending on Thursday evening.

It also predicted Congress may be a distant third with a maximum of four (0-4) seats in the polls. In the 2015 polls, AAP won 67 seats while the BJP cornered the remaining three seats.

An opinion poll by Times Now-IPSOS had earlier predicted AAP 54-60 seats while is expected to win only 10-14 seats. Congress may get 0-2 seats, it had predicted.

Another poll by Neta App-India News too gave AAP a definite edge. Its poll gave 52-57 seats while BJP and Congress are predicted to win between 11-18 and 0-2 seats respectively. 

The ABP-CVoter poll predicted AAP may get a vote share of 45.6% while the BJP is expected to pull around 37.1%. Congress is expected to get only 4.4% while others will grab 12.9%. However, the Times Now-IPSOS poll gave AAP 52% vote share, BJP 34%  Congress 4% and others 10%.

ABP-CVoter poll

Vote Share
AAP 45.6%
BJP 37.1%
Congress 4.4%
Others 12.9%

Seat Projection
AAP 42-56
BJP 10-24
Congress 0-4
Others 0

Times Now-IPSOS poll

Vote Share
AAP 52%
BJP 34%
Congress 4%
Others 10%

Seat Projection
AAP 54-60
BJP 10-14
Congress 0-2
Others 0

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)