YSR Cong MPs asked to wait to quit

YSR Cong MPs asked to wait to quit

YSR Congress members display placards during a protest demanding Special Status for Andhra Pradesh at Parliament House, in New Delhi. PTI/FILE

Five YSR Congress MPs will have to wait for some more time to get their resignation from the Lok Sabha accepted, with Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Tuesday asking them to think once again whether they want to quit.

Mahajan called YSR Congress MPs V Vara Prasada Rao, Y V Subba Reddy, P V Midhun Reddy, Y S Avinash Reddy and Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy for a meeting on Tuesday to ascertain whether their resignations from the lower house was under duress.

The MPs had quit on April 6, the last day of Budget Session, over the Modi government's "denial" of the Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh.

Sources said the Speaker had asked the MPs to think over whether they really wanted to quit over the issue.

When contacted, Midhun Reddy told DH, "we have told the Speaker that we are pressing our resignation. She said she will get back to us."

The YSR Congress had stepped up its agitation in Parliament during the Budget Session by moving a no-confidence motion against the Modi government.

It also prompted the TDP to pull out of the ruling NDA and join the protests for Special Category Status for Andhra Pradesh.