PM to inaugurate 97th Science Congress tomorrow

The five-day event, which is the largest congregation of scientific community in the country, would see participation of 7000 scientists.
Top science administrators would chart out a science programme for the country in the meet.

Secretaries of the Departments of Science and Technology, Space, Biotechnology, Earth Sciences, Atomic Energy, Health Research, Directors General of DRDO and CSIR will deliberate on the challenges faced by the science sector and outline a vision for the future.
The Prime Minister will also present this year's Panampalli Govinda Menon Award to ISRO Former Chairman G Madhavan Nair on the occasion. Nair is the President of the 97th Science Congress.

Eminent scientists from the country and abroad, including Nobel laureates Prof Roger Y Tsien and Dr John C Mather, will address the delegates at the Congress being held at the sprawling Kariavattom campus of Kerala University.

The event, an annual feature, is being organised by the Indian Science Congress Association with the Indian Space Research Organisation and Kerala University as co-hosts. The focal theme of the event is "Science and Technology Challenges of 21st century -- National Perspective".

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)