PM's council on climate change reconstituted

PM's council on climate change reconstituted

The Prime Minister's Council on Climate Change was  reconstituted Wednesday in an effort to better coordinate action on related issues, a statement said.

The 18-member committee, which has Prime Minister Narendra Modi as its chairperson and eight ministers as members, will help in formulation of action plans in assessment, adaptation and mitigation of climate change as well as periodically monitoring key policy decisions.

The members include External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Environment, Forests and Climate Change Minister Prakash Javadekar, Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh, Urban Development Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu along with the cabinet and foreign secretaries among other officials.

Chairperson of The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI) R.K. Pachauri and prominent economist Nitin Desai are also members of the committee. The ministry of environment, forests and climate change will assist the Prime Minister's Office in facilitating the work of this committee.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)