Pre-poll surveys favour YSR Cong in AP

Pre-poll surveys favour YSR Cong in AP

Initial round of pre-poll surveys conducted by different TV channels and other organisations have predicted YSR Congress Party’s victory in the ensuing Assembly bypolls.

According to these surveys, the YSRC is poised to get a minimum of 13 and a maximum of 16 seats. However, Congress candidate and seasoned politician and businessman T Subbarami Reddy was slated as a winner in the Nellore Lok Sabha seat.

A Telugu TV channel which has conducted a pre-poll survey from May 1 to May 10 in all the 18 Assembly segments and one parliament constituency announced that YSRCP would get  at least 14 of the 18 seats while the TDP would get 2, Congress and TRS one each.

The channel predicted that the TDP may win Payakaraopet and Prattipadu constituencies and the Congress may bag Narsapuram in the coastal region. It also give the TRS a victory from Parakala seat in Telangana.

While the BJP and the TRS took extra time in announcing their candidates for the Parkala seat and the CBI case on Jagan taking curious turns on day to day basis, most of the TV channels are making arrangements for conducting one or two more rounds of surveys to  know if there was any change in the people’s mood.

Political observers point out that sympathy for Jagan might increase if he was arrested before the bypolls.

“Congress is not going to lose even after Jagan’s arrest. His arrest will stop further rot in Congress and save the party,” Congress Spokes person Tulasi Reddy said in a TV show.
Many Congress leaders share Reddy’s point of view and are dismissing these survey reports.

They said people have started understanding corrupt practices of Jagan and this would result in an adverse situation to him. However, YSRC leaders are confident of total win and are stating that both the Congress and the TDP would lose their deposits.

Initial round of surveys predict a 40 per cent of the votes for YSRCP,  32 per cent to Congress and 38 per cent to TDP. However, in Parakala, TV reports say that TRS and BJP would share first and second places while Congress, YSRC and TDP would get 12 to 18 per cent of votes.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)