Public campaign ends in Chhattisgarh

Public campaign ends in Chhattisgarh

The campaign through public meetings came to an end on Sunday evening at 5.00 pm.

With the second phase of Chhattisgarh election scheduled on November 20, Sunday witnessed a large congregation of star campaigners from both the Congress and the BJP holding several public meetings.

To save time, some also used helicopters to reach meeting venues in the last leg of the campaign time.

The campaign through public meetings came to an end on Sunday evening at 5.00 pm.

Now, the candidates can conduct a door-to-door campaign.

In the second phase, 72 Assembly constituency, covering 19 districts, go for polls.

Earlier, 18 Assembly constituencies, in Naxal hit Bastar division and Rajnandgaon districts, were part of the first phase of the poll exercise held on November 12.

In the second phase, a total 1,079 candidates are in fray where 53,85,983 electors would be using their franchise.

Out of total electors, 77,46,628 are men while 76,38,415 are women and 940 belong to the third gender.

To ensure cent percent voting in the 72 constituencies, a total of 19,296 polling centres have been established.

The maximum electors in second phase of polling is at Kasdol having 3,33,472 electors while Manendragarh Assembly constituency has least number of electors of 1,31,283.

A total of 493 candidates are in fray as independent candidates.

Raipur City South has maximum of 46 candidates while the minimum number of candidates are at Bindranavagarh—only six are contesting the election.

Out of the 72 Assembly constituencies, in 11 the total number of candidates are more than 20.

In second phase, 119 women candidates are in election fray trying their luck, the maximum number of women candidates are in Raipur City South with the number being 8.

In 18 Assembly constituencies there are no women candidates.

The counting for first and second phase of the polling would be held on December 11.

As per information, around 650 battalions of para-military force have been deputed in the 72 Assembly constituencies.

The distribution of polling materials and polling team movement to respective polling booths will begin from the early November 19 morning.