Re-polling in 7 polling booths in Chandragiri peaceful

Re-polling in 7 polling booths in Chandragiri peaceful

A security personnel keeps vigil in the Chandragiri Assembly constituency.

Repolling in seven polling booths of Chandragiri Assembly segment in Andhra Pradesh's Chittoor district peacefully concluded on Sunday.

Over 85.16% of votes were polled up to 5 pm. The Election Commission of India (EC) had decided to conduct re-polling in the seven booths considering the complaints made by both the YSR Congress and ruling TDP that voters from a certain community were not allowed to vote.

EC took the decision following an appeal for re-poll by YSRCP contestant Chevireddy Bhaskar Reddy, who had filed a complaint with the state's Chief Electoral Officer Gopala Krishna Dwivedi along with visual evidence of the incidents that occurred on April 11.

Following which a re-poll was ordered in five booths—  Kammapalli, S R Kammapalli, Pulivartivaripalle, Venktramapuram and Kotha Kandriga.

However, the EC decided to add two more,  Kaluru and Kuppam Baduru, after the TDP demanded re-polling in 19 booths located in several constituencies that went on polls during the first phase of the Lok Sabha election.

A delegation of the TDP leaders submitted a memorandum to Chief Secretary L V Subramanyam in this regard.

Authorities have provided unprecedented security cover at the polling booths considering the ongoing tension between the main parties.

More than 350 men in uniform provided security cover to each booth.

Separate queue lines were drawn for men and women. Young and old participated in the polling process right from 7 am. In Pulivartivaripalle, police booked TDP candidate Pulivarthi Nani for entering into a brawl with an YSRCP activist.  YSRCP candidate Bhaskar Reddy also created a flutter at the same booth.