RS passes Bill, K'taka's Parivara, Talawara in ST list

RS passes Bill, K'taka's Parivara, Talawara in ST list

A bill to include certain tribal communities in Karnataka into Scheduled Tribe category was passed in the Rajya Sabha on Thursday.

The Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Second Amendment) Bill, 2019 was passed in the Upper House with voice vote. The bill seeks to include Parivara and Talawara tribal communities in ST category to ensure they get the reservation and other benefits provided by the government.

The amendments have been made in the list of STs in Karnataka.

Siddi tribes of Belagavi, Dharwad would also be included in the ST category apart from those living in Uttar Kannada districts.

Replying to a short debate, Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Renuka Singh Saruta said the people of these communities would now be able to get benefits under the ST categories.

She added that the central government has received 21 proposals from various state governments to include some tribal communities in the Scheduled list.

Karnataka government had recommended for inclusion of "Parivara' and Talawara' communities as synonyms of 'Nayaka' appearing at SI No 38 in the list of Scheduled Tribes of the State of Karnataka.

The first specification of Scheduled Tribes in relation to a particular State or Union territory is by a notified Order of the President after consultation with the State Government / UT concerned.

Any subsequent inclusion in or exclusion from and other modifications in the list of Scheduled Tribes can be made only through an amending Act of Parliament.