TRS wins six seats in Andhra Pradesh by-polls

TRS wins six seats in Andhra Pradesh by-polls

It was a one-sided contest as the counting of votes began this morning and TRS candidates registered impressive victories in Siddipet, Dharmapuri, Vemulawada, Chennur, Mancherial and Sirpur constituencies.The ruling Congress suffered a major setback as its state president D Srinivas lost from Nizamabad Urban and party nominees from other seats were also defeated by huge margins.

Srinivas, who lost the 2009 Assembly election too from Nizamabad, was defeated by his BJP rival Y Lakshmi Narayana by a margin of about 12,000 votes.TRS candidate in Siddipet T Harish Rao, nephew of party president K Chandrasekhar Rao, won with a huge margin of over 95,000 votes.

Ballot papers were used in five of the twelve constituencies, and therefore it is expected that the results will take time to come.As per the initial trends, TRS candidates are leading in all the five seats - Warangal West, Yellareddy, Huzurabad, Sircilla and Koratla.
The results of these constituencies were expected to be out only in the evening or even later. "This is a victory of Telangana sentiment. We dedicate this victory to all those who sacrificed their life for the sake of separate Telangana. This should be a message to the Centre. They should immediately form separate Telangana state," Harish Rao said.
Accepting the defeat, Srinivas said that people voted in favour of those who quit in support of the separate statehood demand.

Chief Minister K Rosaiah said in a brief statement that his party would respect the verdict of the people.TDP senior leader T Devender Goud said the TRS' thumping victory in the by-elections was widely expected.

"The by-polls were held in a highly emotional atmosphere. We could not focus on the by-election campaigning as we were busy fighting the Babli issue. This has certainly left an impact on our performance," Goud said.

The bypolls in the 12 seats were necessitated as the sitting MLAs had quit their posts in support of separate Telangana demand.  

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)