Under-fire AAP defends its leader Kejriwal

Under-fire AAP defends its leader Kejriwal

Under-fire AAP defends its leader Kejriwal

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) today defended its leader Arvind Kejriwal for his controversial comments on sending media persons to jail, saying he was referring to a section of media which was running an "agenda" of BJP and its Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi.

"Arvind Kejriwal has said that a section of media was implementing the agenda of Modi and BJP. His comments were directed against them. His comments were against those who distort news and resort to paid news," senior party leader Sanjay Singh told a press conference here.

Party spokesperson and former news channel editor Ashutosh, who was also present at the press conference, pointed out that a recent sting operation conducted by it had shown that some of the agencies which conduct opinion polls before elections are willing to tweak their findings for money.

"No action has been taken against television channels and the opinion poll agencies yet," Ashutosh, who is contesting from Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha seat on a party ticket, said.

Interestingly, there were heated arguments between journalists and party leaders over the issue. Journalist Ashish Khetan, who is the party's candidate from New Delhi Lok Sabha seat, also attacked the media saying a section of them was only promoting Modi and do not write critical stories against Gujarat government and its chief minister.

The party also named four channels, who were "targeting" the party and said that it will approach the Election Commission over the issue.

"Some channels have been running a campaign against us. We will take up the issue with the Election Commission and give them relevant proofs," Singh said.

Kejriwal kicked off a controversy by alleging that the media is "sold" and "heavy amounts" have been paid to promote BJP's prime ministerial nominee Narendra Modi. He later denied having made the accusation against the media after his remarks came under attack from Congress, BJP and CPI.