Uttarakhand govt faces crisis

Uttarakhand govt faces crisis

Crisis in the 15-month-old Vijay Bahuguna government in Uttarakhand deepened on Wednesday, with five disgruntled Congress MLAs boycotting a meeting convened by him, triggering sharp criticism from the ruling party, which dubbed it as an “insult” to the chief minister.

Bahuguna had called the meeting on Monday to hear their grievances after Congress MLA Harish Dhami threatened to resign last week if his complaints were not redressed within a fortnight, prompting four more party MLAs to express solidarity with him.

Rejecting the chief minister’s invitation for a meeting at the secretariat, the MLAs instead met the state’s Sports Minister Dinesh Aggarwal, considered close to Union minister Harish Rawat, at his residence to vent their grievances.

The boycott of Bahuguna’s meeting came close on the heels of Rawat, MP from Haridwar, camping here for three days at the behest of the chief minister to pacify the dissident MLAs and defuse the crisis.

Meanwhile,  terming the boycott of the meeting by the five MLAs as an insult to the chief minister, Pradesh Congress spokesman Dhirendra Pratap on Wednesday demanded that three of the legislators quit the posts they hold in the government. “They have no right to continue in office if they have no faith in the Chief Minister,” he said, referring to Mayukh Mahar, Himesh Kharkwal and Manoj Tiwari, who hold cabinet-rank posts in the government.

Mahar is the vice-chairman of the State Planning Commission, whereas Kharkwal and Manoj Tiwari are Parliamentary Secretaries.

Interestingly, they represent constituencies located in the Kumaon region, which is considered a stronghold of Rawat, who had nurtured the hope of becoming the chief minister.

The Congress has 32 MLAs in the 70-member Assembly, with three Bahujan Samaj Party MLAs, one Uttarakhand Kranti Dal  member and three independents supporting the Bahuguna government.