YSRCP victory: overhaul of temple teams underway in AP

YSRCP victory: overhaul of temple teams underway in AP

File photo of TTD Board Meeting with EO Anil Kumar Singhal (left) and Chairman Putta Sudhakar Yadav (middle)

Following the tradition, prominent cine-director K Raghavendra Rao put down his papers as chairman of the Sri Venkateswara Bhakti Channel (SVBC) run by the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD), after the Telugu Desam Party lost the elections.

The ace director who is a functionary of the TDP cited age as the reason, thus saving himself from the imminent axe that would have fallen on him from Y S Jaganmohan Reddy’s administration.

The changed political scene in the state had its impact on the TTD board, that met on Tuesday in Tirumala. The Executive Officer Anil Kumar Singhal and JEO Raju walked out of the meeting after the issue of revamping the board with the nominees was proposed by the YSRCP leaders. Even though the board was to meet in the month of February, it was postponed due to the election code of conduct.

“If the new government scraps the present Board of TTD, then we will quit. Otherwise, we will not resign, as we were properly appointed and taken oath to function,” TTD Board chairman and TDP leader Putta Sudhakar Babu told the media after the meeting got cancelled. Yadav said that the officers walked out of the meeting, being as they are also equally concerned about the possible onslaught by the YS Jaganmohan Reddy’s administration.

Challa Babu, who was appointed by the Naidu’s government offered his resignation on Tuesday. Meanwhile, the entire committee of the Kanaka Durga temple at Indrakeeladri has submitted the resignations to temple EO Koteswaramma. However, she refused to accept the resignations as chairman Gouranga Babu did not submit a letter with all the signatures of the members.

There is no news from the administrations of temple committees of Srikalahasti, Srisailam, Annavaram, Simhachalam and others so far.