As preferences change, CRZ rules get modified

As preferences change, CRZ rules get modified

1981: A directive was issued by the central government advising all coastal states/union territories to take necessary precautions to protect the Indian coastline.

1991: CRZ Notification was issued under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, to regulate all development activities in coastal areas. The notification prohibited and regulated certain activities within 500 mt from the High Tide Line (HTL) on the landward side and within 100-150 mt from the HTL on the landward side along waterbodies influenced by tidal activities such as creeks and estuaries.

The CRZ area was classified as CRZ-I, CRZ-II, CRZ-III and CRZ-IV

The Notification of 1991 was amended nearly 25 times keeping in view the issues raised by coastal State/ UT Governments and other stakeholders

2004: The Ministry of Environment and Forests (MoEF) constituted a committee under the chairmanship of M S Swaminathan to review CRZ notification and a legal framework for Integrated Coastal Zone Management (ICZM) policy.

2005: The Swaminathan Committee submitted its report.

2008: A draft Coastal Management Zone (CMZ) Notification was issued, which was later withdrawn based on the suggestions and objections raised by the stakeholders.

2009: The MoEF constituted a committee under the chairmanship of M S Swaminathan again to consider all the coastal issues and suggest the policy and legal framework for ICZM.

2011: Based on the committee’s recommendations, the MoEF issued two notifications superseding the CRZ Notification, 1991: (i) CRZ Notification, 2011 and (ii) IPZ Notification, 2011.

2014: The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) formed a committee under the chairmanship of Shailesh Nayak, then Secretary to the Ministry of Earth Sciences, to review the CRZ-2011 Notifications as several representations were received from Karnataka, Kerala and Maharashtra governments requesting changes in the CRZ 2011 Notification.

2018: Based on the Nayak Committee recommendations and subsequent consultation with the MPs from coastal states, a draft notification was issued for inviting comments from public.

2018: On December 28, the Cabinet approved the Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ) Notification, 2018.

2019: On January 18, MoEF&CC notified CRZ 2018 rules superseding the 2011 Notification.