Australia beat Pakistan to lift ICC U-19 World Cup

Last Updated 30 January 2010, 16:35 IST

Put into bat, Australia first posted a competitive 207 in the stipulated 50 overs and then skittled out Pakistan for 182 in 46.4 overs.

Pacer Josh Hazlewood's four-wicket haul and left-arm spinner Luke Doran's three scalps to bring the downfall of the former champions Pakistan.

Chasing 208 to win, Pakistan batsmen could not capitalise on their starts and the team kept losing wickets in regular intervals.

Skipper Azeem Ghumman top scored with a 90-ball 41, which included just one four and the only partnership that gave Pakistan's total some respectability was the 54-run first wicket stand between Ahmad Shahzad (36) and Muhammad Babar (28).

Earlier batting first, Australia recovered after being reduced to 23 for three inside five overs. A 57-run stand between Jason Floros (35) and Alex Keath (25) resurrected their innings before a run-out saw the former back into the hut.

Alex also didn't last long and was dismissed after 15 balls as Australia slipped to 127 for six in 34.5 overs but a fruitful 62-run partnership between Tim Armstrong (37) and Kane Richardson (44) pulled them out of the crisis.


Australia Under-19s innings (50 overs maximum)

NJ Maddinson  lbw b Fayyaz Butt  0
TM Beaton  c Babar Azam b Sarmad Bhatti  5
MR Marsh*  c †Mohammad Waqas b Fayyaz Butt  7
AR Keath  c Rameez Aziz b Raza Hasan  25
JS Floros  run out (Hammad Azam)  35
TJ Armstrong  b Sarmad Bhatti  37
TIF Triffitt†  c †Mohammad Waqas b Babar Azam  21
KW Richardson  c Ahmed Shehzad b Sarmad Bhatti  44
JR Hazlewood  run out (Usman Qadir/Sarmad Bhatti)  5
LA Doran  not out  9
AC McDermott  not out  3
Extras (LB 2, W 14) 16
Total (For nine wickets in 50 overs) 207
Fall of wickets: 1-2, 2-10, 3-23, 4-80, 5-82, 6-127, 7-189, 8-189, 9-199.
Bowling: Fayyaz Butt 7-0-37-2, Sarmad Bhatti 8-0-33-3, Raza Hasan 10-3-21-1, Hammad Azam 2-0-23-0, Usman Qadir 10-0-35-0, Ahmed Shehzad 7-0-22-0, Babar Azam 6-0-34-1.

Pakistan Under-19s innings (target: 208 runs from 50 overs)

Babar Azam  c †Triffitt b Doran  28
Ahsan Ali  c Beaton b Hazlewood  2
Ahmed Shehzad  lbw b Doran  36
Azeem Ghumman*  b Floros  41
Rameez Aziz  b Doran  23
Hammad Azam  c †Triffitt b Hazlewood  0
Mohammad Waqas†  c Hazlewood b Keath  13
Sarmad Bhatti  b Hazlewood  10
Usman Qadir  c †Triffitt b McDermott  9
Raza Hasan  c †Triffitt b Hazlewood  10
Fayyaz Butt  not out  4
Extras (W 3, NB 3) 6
Total (all out in 46.4 overs) 182
Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-69, 3-74, 4-110, 5-111, 6-130, 7-156, 8-166, 9-168, 10-182
Bowling: JR Hazlewood 8.4-1-30-4, AC McDermott 8-0-50-1, KW Richardson 7-1-20-0, TJ Armstrong 2-0-13-0, LA Doran 10-1-32-3, JS Floros 8-1-19-1, AR Keath 3-0-18-1.

(Published 30 January 2010, 09:35 IST)

Follow us on