Croatia's luck ran out with penalty call: Dalic

Croatia's luck ran out with penalty call: Dalic

President of Croatia Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic with Croatia coach Zlatko Dalic during the medals ceremony REUTERS.

Croatia coach Zlatko Dalic lamented his side's luck after conceding a controversial penalty awarded by VAR in losing the World Cup final 4-2 to France.

With the score level at 1-1, Argentine referee Nestor Pitana changed yesterday his initial decision and awarded a spot-kick, converted by Antoine Griezmann, for handball against Ivan Perisic after viewing television replays.

Despite the decision, Dalic defended VAR as a "good thing for football" but believes his side's luck in Russia finally ran out after penalty shootout wins over Denmark and Russia en route to the final.

"I never comment on referees but in a World Cup final you do not give such a penalty," said Dalic.

"It in no way diminishes France's win. We were a bit unlucky, maybe in the first six games we were favoured by luck and today we weren't.

"I have to congratulate my players, maybe today we played our best game at these championships. Against such a strong side as France you must not make mistakes. We are a bit sad but we must also be proud of what we've done." 

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
GET IT
Comments (+)