DAC road races in Tumkur, Bellary

DAC road races in Tumkur, Bellary

Deccan Athletic Club’s annual K A Nettakallappa Memorial Road Races, sponsored by Deccan Herald and Prajavani, will be held at Tumkur and Bellary this year.

The race at Tumkur will be on June 15 and the one at Bellary on June 29, both starting at 6.30 am.

Events will be held for Men (12km), women (6km), under-16 boys (2.5 km) and under-16 girls (2.5 km). The races are open to all athletes from all over Karnataka. Free accommodation will be provided at Tumkur and Bellary and there will be no entry fee.

The men’s and women’s winner will be richer by Rs 5000 while the runners-up will get Rs 3,500 and the third-place Rs 2,500. There will be prize money upto the 10th place. For boys and girls, the top three placers will receive Rs 1500, Rs 1000 and Rs 750 each.

Chest numbers will be distributed from 3.00 pm onwards on June 14 at the main entrance of Mahatma Gandhi Stadium in Tumkur and on June 28 at the main entrance of BDAA Football Stadium in Bellary.

Entries with proper date of birth proof (for boys and girls) may be sent to Anantharaju, organising secretary, Deccan Athletic Club, Pragathi, No 39/137, 1st D Cross, 6th Main, Remco Layout, Vijayanagar, Bangalore 560 040. Phone: 22275656. Entries for Tumkur race close on June 13 and for Bellary on June 26.