Maharashtra blank Bengal for 2nd win

Maharashtra blank Bengal for 2nd win

Maharashtra registered their second consecutive win in as many days as they blanked Bengal 9-0 in thier Pool ‘C’ encounter of the 4th Hockey India Junior Women’s National Championship (Division A) at the Chamundi Vihar ground here on Sunday.

Bengal, still reeling from thier humiliating 0-19 loss to Jharkhand on the opening day, failed to up the ante as they were laid low by Maharashtra’s aggressive style of play.

Leading from the front, skipper Aishwarya Chavan struck the first two goals for Maharashtra in the seventh and 26th minutes of the match before Alakananda Bagade (34th) and Pooja Bhoyar (35th) extended thier lead to 4-0 by the end of the first half.In the second half, Maharashtra refused to step off the accelerator as they pumped in five more goals to complete formalities. 

Result: Pool A: Sports Authority Of India: 10 (Sonal Minj 13th, Lakshmi Devi 15th, Mamta 19th, 61st, 63rd, Manisha 38th, 39th, 44th, 55th, Sangeeta Rose Kullu 26th) bt Rajasthan: 0; Haryana: 14 (Reet 10th, 13th, 25th, 46th, Pooja Rani 34th, 55th, 67th, Jyoti Gupta 8th, 29th, 66th, Neha Goyal 3rd, Hardeep Kaur 5th, Nicky 26th, Narinder Kaur 61st) bt Tamil Nadu: 0.

Pool C: Maharashtra: 9 (Aishwarya Chavan 7th, 26th, Alakananda Bagade 34th, 37th, Pooja Bhoyar 3rd, 64th, Sneha Lagali 41st, Pratiksha Harne 57th, Puja Shinde 66th) bt Bengal: Uttar Pradesh: 2 (Chand Khan 42nd, 59th) bt Jharkhand: 2 (Ranjeeta Minz 62nd, Kanti Pradhan 66th).