MBC, Sports School champs

MBC, Sports School champs

Mangalore Basketball Club boys and Sports School (Mandya) girls emerged champions in the State Sub-junior basketball championships for the B S Narayan memorial trophy at the Sree Kanteerava stadium here on Wednesday.

MBC outplayed Jayanagar Sports Club 45-22 in the last semifinal league match and finished with an all-win record to lift the title while Sports School scored a comfortable 57-23 victory over Mounts Club in the last semifinal league match to pocket the crown. Mandya team won all the three semifinal league ties to claim top honours. Varshitha scored a match-high 15 points for Sports School in their match aganist Mounts Club.

Results (Semifinal league): 

Boys: Mangalore BC: 45 (Akash 16, Elston 10) bt JSC: 22 (Shreyas 5). HT: 21-12; Young Orions: 26 (Vishrath 9) bt Sports School, Chandargi: 10 (Nishanth 5). HT: 12-5.

Girls: Sports School, Mandya: 57 (Varshitha 15) bt Mounts Club: 23 (Pragna 9). HT: 35-9; Vimanapura SC: 29 (Dhatri 15) bt Shimoga Youths: 12 (Divya 8). HT 10-7.

Placings: Boys:  Mangalore BC, 1; Young Orions, 2; JSC, 3; Sports School, Chandargi, 4.Girls: Sports School, Mandya, 1; Vimanapura SC, 2; Mounts Club, 3; Shimoga, 4.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)