Mohit, Monisha champions

Mohit, Monisha champions

Guruprasad, Vineet Manuel win doubles title

Victorious Duo: Mohit Kamat and Monisha Vinayak display their spoils at the MS Ramaiah Anandashram State-ranking badminton tournament in Bangalore on Tuesday. DH photo

Both Mohit and Monisha had to wage grim battles before being crowned champions, triumphing against SDS Krishna and Ruth Misha respectively in three hard-fought games.

Mohit was outclassed in the first game by an on-song Krishna, but then battled back brilliantly to win the points that mattered, clinching a tight second game 21-18 to push the contest into the decider.

It was even stevens for much of the final game, but Mohit again played the bigger points better to eventually eke out a 12-21, 21-18, 21-17 victory.

His hopes of a double crown, however, were dashed when he and Venkatesh Prasad went down somewhat tamely at 19-21, 12-21 to Guruprasad and Vineet Manuel in the doubles title clash. Monisha too had to put her best foot forward before overcoming Ruth, again forced to fight back after dropping the first game.
Monisha triumphed 16-21, 21-18, 21-17.
Results (all finals): Men’s, singles: Mohit Kamat bt SDS Krishna 12-21, 21-18, 21-17.
Doubles: Guruprasad/ Vineet Manuel bt Mohit Kamat/ Venkatesh Prasad 21-19, 21-12.
Veteran’s, singles: PC Thakur bt SN Bharath Kumar 21-15, 21-6.
Doubles: KB Naidu/ PR Harish bt M Ramu/ Vijay Kumar 21-17, 21-9.
Women’s, singles: Monisha Vinayak bt Ruth Misha 16-21, 21-18, 21-17.