Mysuru Open semifinals hit by pull-outs

The men’s singles semifinals turned out to be a disappointing affair with one player from each of the two semifinals pulling out with injury, that left Olympian and former Davis Cupper Vishnu Vardhan and tournament top seed Ramkumar Ramnathan with the opportunity to battle it out for the title in the Sobha ITF Mysuru Open on Saturday.

In the first semi on Friday, tournament second seed Karunuday Singh fought tooth-and-nail in the first set. It was clear who was calling the shots as the big serving Vishnu was in no mood to relinquish his service games. The eight seed did come across four break points in the first set, but saw the higher ranked Karunuday manage to cling on to force the tie-breaker.

The No 2 seed managed to win just one point while the second point was courtesy a double fault from Vishnu.

It was during the tie-breaker that Karunuday twisted his ankle and despite on-court treatment the player seemed in discomfort. When his service game was broken in the second set, he decided it was better to quit rather than aggravate the injury.

The second semifinal saw former Davis Cupper, Ranjeet Virali-Murugesan giving Ramkumar a run for his money initially.

It was the top seed who drew first blood breaking Ranjeet in the fifth game of the first set, but was broken immediately in the sixth as players held serve to push the set into the tie-breaker.

Ranjeet raced to a 3-1 lead but Ram Kumar made it 3-all and 4-all before Ranjeet claimed the next three points to take the first set.

However, Ramkumar got that one break to take the second set.

Results: Men’s singles: Semifinals: Vishnu Vardhan bt Karunuday Singh 7-6 (2), 2-0 (retd); Ramkumar Ramnathan bt Ranjeet Virali-Murugesan  6-7(4), 6-4, 4-2 (retd).  Doubles: final: Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash/ Vinayak Sharma Kaza bt Bhavesh Gour/ Sidarth Rawat 6-4, 6-2.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0