Pakistan win opener

Dashing all-rounder Shahid Afridi starred in Pakistan’s exciting three-wicket win over Sri Lanka in the first Twenty20 international at Dubai stadium.

Afridi scored an unbeaten 20-ball 39 on Wednesday, hitting the winning six off the last ball of the final over by paceman Nuwan Kulasekara to give Pakistan a 1-0 lead in the two-match series.

In all Afridi hit three sixes and two boundaries to help Pakistan overcome a tough challenge from world number one Sri Lanka who had taken the match to the final over with Pakistan needing six runs.

Set a challenging 146 to get, Pakistan lost Ahmed Shehzad (four) in the third over but Mohammad Hafeez (32) and Sharjeel Khan (34) steadied the innings through their 57-run second wicket stand before they lost three wickets in the space of seven runs.

Score board

Dilshan c Shehzad b Tanvir    7
K Perera lbw Ajmal    15
Chandimal lbw Afridi    22
Sangakkara c Afridi b Ajmal    21
Mathews c Sharjeel b Tanvir    50
Thirimanne (not out)    23
T Perera (not out)    2
Extras (W-5)    5
Total (for 5 wkts, 20 overs)    145
Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-41, 3-59, 4-84, 5-142.
Bowling: Hafeez 4-0-24-0, Tanvir 4-0-34-2, Usman 1-0-9-0, Bilawal 3-0-23-0, Ajmal 4-0-35-2, Afridi 4-0-20-1.
Sharjeel c Dilshan b T Perera    34
Shehzad c T’manne b S’nayake    4
Hafeez lbw Mendis    32
U Akmal (run out)    5
Maqsood lbw Malinga    13
Amin c Chandimal b Malinga    8
Afridi (not out)    39
Bilawal c T Perera b Malinga    10
Tanvir (not out)    0
Extras (NB-1)    1
Total (for 7 wkts, 19.1 overs)    146
Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-69, 3-76, 4-76, 5-96, 6-117, 7-139.
Bowling: Malinga 4-0-26-3, Kulasekara 3.1-0-30-0, Senanayake 3-0-14-1, Mendis 4-0-29-1, Mathews 2-0-20-0, T Perera 3-0-27-1.

Comments (+)