Peeved Anil hits out at KSCA

Peeved Anil hits out at KSCA

After the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) named two new coaches for the senior State teams for the 2018-19 season, G K Anil Kumar, who was snubbed along with P V Shashikanth, was livid and disappointed with the association’s decision. 

“It’s really unfortunate. If you look at how any other association in the country has worked, it is a very basic thing that you give the coaches at least one more year if the team has done well. We definitely deserved a chance,” said Anil. 

Anil said the decision has left them clueless. “We don’t know what is happening. I don’t know who these office bearers want to please. We spoke to them and demanded an explanation. After the domestic season was over, many officials of different teams, including national chairman of selectors, MSK Prasad, spoke highly of how we conducted our team and produced results. So this decision is shocking for us,” he said. 

The 44-year-old felt some of the bold decisions taken by the duo might not have gone down well with the management. “In the interest of the team, we did take some strict calls that might have upset the management. But we were looking at giving youngsters a long rope and many of our decisions worked well. The results are out in the open to see,” he explained. 

List of coaches: Senior State team: K Yere Goud (batting coach), S Arvind (bowling coach).

U-23: N C Aiyappa, S N Ameet. 

U-19: Deepak Chowgule, G Chaitra. 

U-16: M G Sunil Shankar, G Nidhuvan. 

U-14: Rajashekar D Shanbal, G Mukund. 

List of selectors: Senior State: A Raghuram Bhat (chairman), D Ganesh, Fazal R Khaleel and C Raghu. 

U-23: Anand P Katti (chairman), Shahvir Tarapore, Ramesh Hejmadi, Suresh D Shanbal, M S Ravindra. 

U-19: B Akhil (chairman), A R Mahesh, C Raghavendra, Tejpal Kothari, Baba B Bhusad. 

U-16 & U-14: B Siddaramu (chairman), Santosh Kumar Vadeyaraj, Ragotham Navil, M V Prashanth, D R Nagaraj, Samuel Jayaraj Muthu.