Railways extend reign

Railways extend reign

Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) trounced Madhya Pradesh 5-0 to claim their sixth successive Senior National Women's Championship (A Division) here on Monday.

A brace each from Neha (12th, 16th) and Navneet Kaur (25th, 28th) along with Vandana Katariya's goal in the 10th minute saw the favourites gallop home without breaking a sweat.

The final saw Railways start strongly, scoring their first goal in only the 10th minute as experienced forward Vandana got her name on the score-sheet. Two minutes later, Neha struck for the defending champions, scoring off a penalty corner.

Madhya Pradesh found it difficult to defend against the constant attacking threat of Railways and ended up conceding a third when Neha scored off a penalty corner again in the 16th minute.

Madhya Pradesh tried to find their feet in the match but top-scorer Navneet came up with two goals in three minutes to completely blow them apart. Navneet took her goals tally to 12 in the competition.

Haryana claimed the bronze for a second year running after edging out Maharashtra.