Renamed Force India to start from scratch

Renamed Force India to start from scratch

Esteban Ocon ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix. Reuters

The renamed Force India Formula One team will start from zero at this weekend’s Belgian Grand Prix after being stripped of their constructors’ championship points and accepted as a new mid-season entry.

The governing International Automobile Federation (FIA) said in a statement that Mexican Sergio Perez and Frenchman Esteban Ocon will keep their points.

The new team, controlled by a consortium led by Canadian billionaire Lawrence Stroll, will be called Racing Point Force India. Otmar Szafnauer has been appointed principal.

“The Sahara Force India F1 Team has accepted its exclusion from the 2018 FIA Formula One World Championship with immediate effect...and forfeits all Constructors’ Championship points,” the FIA said.

“The joint administrators...have completed the sale of the business and its assets to Racing Point UK Limited, the investment consortium led by Lawrence Stroll and the team’s senior management.”