‘No’ to Vijayendra: BJP stands firm on anti-dynasty politics

‘No’ to Vijayendra: BJP stands firm on anti-dynasty politics

By denying a ticket to BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa’s son B Y Vijayendra, the party central leadership has sent a strong message that it is in command and that it is not in favour of dynastic politics.

The central leadership on Tuesday remained firm on its stand and did not succumb to pressure from local party workers and also a section of state leaders that Vijayendra be allowed to contest from Varuna in Mysuru district.

The party gave the ticket to local leader T Basavaraju, just hours before the closing of nominations on Tuesday. He is pitted against Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s son Yathindra.

Supporters of Vijayendra had staged protests at several places in Mysuru on Monday soon after learning that he was unlikely to get a ticket. As many as 10 candidates from Mysuru and Chamarajnagar districts had even threatened to withdraw their nominations if Vijayendra was not allowed to contest.

In some places, the protests turned violent following which the police resorted to lathi-charge to bring the situation under control. However, the central leadership remained unfazed.

As the decision was taken at the highest level by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah, political circles see this as a move to cut Yeddyurappa down to size.

It is said that Yeddyrappa took a unilateral decision that Vijayendra would contest from Varuna without consulting the central leadership. His elder son B Y Raghavendra is a Lok Sabha member representing the Shivamogga Parliamentary constituency.

Yeddyurappa, who is the party’s chief ministerial candidate, has no option but to bear the setback silently. However, to placate supporters he appointed Vijayendra as party youth wing general secretary on Tuesday.

Fifth list out

The BJP also announced its fifth list of candidates. In Arasikere, the party has replaced former minister V Somanna’s son Arun Somanna with Mariswamy, a distant relative of Yeddyurappa. Arun, a resident of Bengaluru had turned down the ticket on the grounds that he preferred to contest from an urban seat. 

Other seats: Badami: Sriramalu; Sakleshpura (SC): Somashekhar; Madhugiri: Ramesh Reddy; Sira: S R Gowda; Shidlaghatta: H Suresh; Srinivaspura: Venugopal; Mandya: Chandagala Shivanna; Melukote: Shivalinge Gowda. 

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily