4-member panel formed on land for JSW

4-member panel formed on land for JSW

The State government on Wednesday set up a four-member Cabinet sub-committee headed by Home Minister M B Patil to look into its controversial decision to sell 3,667 acres of land in Ballari district to JSW Steel.

Co-operation Minister Bandeppa Kashanpur, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister Krishna Byre Gowda and Social Welfare Minister Priyank Kharge are the other members of the sub-committee. The Cabinet will the final decision on the issue based on the panel’s report.

Industries Minister K J George, who had strongly defended the government’s decision, is not a part of the committee. Ballari District Incharge Minister D K Shivakumar and Revenue Minister R V Deshpande, too, have kept themselves away.

The government’s decision to hand over the land had met with stiff resistance from senior Congress leader H K Patil and JD(S) state president A H Vishwanath, leading to immense embarrassment to the government. Opposition BJP, which had staged three-day dharna against it, had accused the coalition government of taking kickbacks from JSW Steel for giving the land.


DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)